Panic At the Disco!: My First Day of Injections

tuesday was my first day of hormone injections

Mixed+emotions_e61ab0_3824139

it did not go very well…

LucyEwww-vi

first of all, what do I look like,

a nurse?

a scientist?

scientist_research_data

they have me mixing my own medications!

flabbergasted-cat

it’s not that I mind

it’s just that I don’t trust myself!

GWM014_fc

nurses go to school for this sort of thing

942ea57f623b3636ebe9d791916b0ec4

and I’m supposed to do it correctly from one class that I took back in March?

359lje

my first mistake, was I didn’t re-read the instructions from that class

264672_1

if I had, I would have noticed the first step

(which is very un-intuitive):

suck up 1ml of air into the syringe

i-a979a909b010e1140466c61f5fc37684-stand_back_square_0

BEFORE you stick the needle into the saline

giphy

what I ended up with was a syringe full of meds plus about 0.5ml of air at the top

kind of like this

kind of like this

all I remember during the needle class

is “make sure there aren’t any air bubbles!”

i didn’t know what to do

undecided

should i throw it all away and start over?

comic-what-a-waste

or risk injecting myself with air?

only-a-fart-away-from-certain-death

i ended up choosing the latter

and obvs i didn’t die

BUT

i had a “vasovagal response” immediately after injection

you know, the kind where the world feels like this

1309197191_portal_wall_squeeze

i only read that nausea, vomiting, and headache were possible side effects

NOT PANIC!!!

54003bc0bb1a317da2331150459090bb498

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Hehehe . . . I’m glad you survived 😀

    Next time can you turn it upside down with the needle facing up so the air is on the top, tap it with your finger to bring all the little tiny air bubbles to the top, and then push on the syringe and eject all the air before you inject yourself??


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

